Throwback: My Favourite Destinations in 2014

2014 has been a blast for me. I’d really like to do it justice by savouring my memories slowly, going through the best of them. Travel-wise, I’ve really been blessed in the past year. I’ve been to India (and also live there now), China, UK, Ireland, UAE, and my lovely home Singapore.

So to round up the year, here are the top 5 favourite destinations I’ve been blessed to have experienced:

#1 – Scotland. Rugged landscape, beautiful lochs, and medieval castles are only some of the awesome experiences Scotland has to offer. Edinburgh itself may possibly be one of my favourite cities of all time. Add to that bagpipers and hairy coos, and Scotland seals the deal for my top destination in 2014. See more here and here.

Photo credit: Juxxtapose

Bagpiper in front of Eileen Donan Castle in the Scottish Highlands | Photo credit: Juxxtapose

#2 – Ireland. To be fair, I’ve wanted to visit Ireland since I was 13 or so. It was everything I imagined and then some. The gloomy rain doesn’t get the Irish down. They are a happy people, proud of their land and their heritage. There’s so much greenery and flowers and coasts, and with it, peace and calm and tranquility. I share a few of the many highlights in Ireland herehere and here.

Photo credit: Juxxtapose

The view of Ha Penny Bridge from a lovely cafe | Photo credit: Juxxtapose

#3 – Great Wall of China. The Great Wall literally took my breath away – blame it on my poor stamina. It also did take my breath away figuratively speaking. I hadn’t expected it to be as vast and as far-reaching as it was. And the landscape was as vast and hilly and never-ending. We made it to the 5th tower before we decided that it was an achievement that we could be proud of, and turned back in spite of all the older but physically fitter aunties and uncles who continued on (actually they were all well ahead of us).

Photo credit: Juxxtapose

Conquering the Great Wall one step at a time | Photo credit: Juxxtapose

#4 – Ladakh. I’ll always be glad to have braved the high altitude and cold for Ladakh. In my opinion, the best place to explore within the Indian subcontinent. (Disclaimer: I have not been to Sikkim and Darjeeling, which I have heard is amazing as well.) I would definitely recommend the Ladakh region to any of my friends who are coming to visit India. Most visitors make it to Delhi and to Taj Mahal. Leh is a mere 1 plus hour flight away from Delhi and would fit nicely into your India itinerary. Read more about my favourite Indian adventure here, here and here.

Photo credit: Juxxtapose

Nubra Valley, part of the ancient Silk Route | Photo credit: Juxxtapose

#5 – Shanghai. Or Beijing. So hard to choose because they are both amazing places but for different reasons. I ultimately chose Shanghai because it felt more modern Chinese which I really liked. I had a great time eating a wide variety of mouth-watering Chinese food too – from soup buns to Chinese-style high tea sessions to authentic Shanghainese cuisine. My belly was grateful for the culinary adventure. Shanghai also had quaint, albeit slightly touristy alleys and lanes that I loved getting lost in. Bonus points for it’s proximity to Zhujiajiao Ancient Water Town which is a must-see for every visitor to Shanghai.

Photo credit: Juxxtapose

The famous Shanghai skyline – prettier by night | Photo credit: Juxxtapose

Not in the list but of notable mention:

  1. London. I’ll always love London, but since this was my second trip there, it’ll have to make way for the other exciting destinations.
  2. Singapore. Going home feels like a holiday these days. I love taking trips back home, but it just seems unfair to list my home as a favourite destination. It’ll always be my favourite cos I’m biased.
Photo credit: Juxxtapose

Flying away from Singapore for the umpteenth time this year | Photo credit: Juxxtapose

One thought on “Throwback: My Favourite Destinations in 2014

Leave a comment