Summer Vacay Part III

For the final installation of our 3-part vacation, we’ll be flying over to Ireland! We considered traveling on a train/ferry combination, however, the journey would take much longer, and it wouldn’t be much cheaper either. We’ll be taking a short flight from Glasgow to Belfast, before we revert to using trains for transport. Belfast is not ‘Ireland’ but we’re heading to Dublin after that.

What would be interesting in Belfast, would be to learn more about the Troubles, ‘three decades of violence between elements of Northern Ireland’s Irish nationalist community (mainly self-identified as Irish and/or Roman Catholic) and its unionist community (mainly self-identified as British and/or Protestant)’ as quoted from Wikipedia. This is something I’ve read about in textbooks in school, and it is quite wonderful to be able to go to a place and see the actual places talked about in your hometown classroom. I can be quite a nerd when it comes to things like these.

The lush, green Republic of Ireland on the other hand seems to hold the promise of magical creatures hiding in secret gardens. I’ve wanted to visit Ireland for a long long time now. I can’t believe it’s really going to happen.

Having grown up in the perpetually hot and humid Singapore, I’m pretty glad we’ll be going during the summer because I think we will not handle the cold so well. Also, daylight hours will be longer, meaning more time with the sun still up!

Ah! Just one month more before we fly off! I can’t wait!

(I’ll re-read Part I & Part II while I wait.)

One thought on “Summer Vacay Part III

  1. Pingback: Things I Miss About Living in Singapore – Part I | Juxxtapose

Leave a comment