A Heartfelt Letter to my Dear… Laptop

You gave me a huge scare this past weekend. I thought I lost you and I thought I had to move on.

It shouldn’t have come as a surprise though. For a few months now, you’ve been moving at snail’s pace and spontaneously rebooting on occasion. On Saturday though, you spontaneously rebooted with that same soft ‘pop’ continuously for a few times in a row. Not long after, you went into continuous loops of starting up, although you never succeeded. I think you tried your best each time, but it was never enough. I was heartbroken. I thought you were gone.

You see, even though you’re not the fastest sleekest machine in town, I spent a great 4 years with you. You now know all my habits and preferences. How will I ever get used to another?!

And then I gave up, thinking that my poor laptop had run its course. Thankfully, the hubs didn’t. He basically administered IT-styled CPR to it and resuscitated my dear laptop. And although it initially couldn’t even detect my wireless network, and even now claims to not detect numerous drivers and HDD/SSD and the sorts that I don’t understand, it’s working. Maybe teetering dangerously on the edge of full breakdown, but still working. And that’s really enough for me right now.

One thought on “A Heartfelt Letter to my Dear… Laptop

  1. Pingback: Of Having No Other Choice | Juxxtapose

Leave a comment